Forum rules

Moderator Aaron: The U.S. Sportsman's Alliance has given BFA (and me personally) permission to reproduce any of their articles here in the Great Outdoors forum or on our home page, in their entirety, as long as the original source is given credit.
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 
Author
Post subject: Rifles for Small Game without Restrictions ODNR 2014-15
Post Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:40 pm
On page 21 of the ODNR 2014-15 Hunting Regulations you can pick up at any Walmart it states for (small game animals) squirrel, ruffed grouse, cottontail rabbit, ring-necked pheasant, chukar, bobwhite quail, fox, raccoon, skunk, opossum, weasel, crow, coyote, feral swine (wild boar), and groundhog that you can use a bow, crossbow, ANY CALIBER handgun, ANY CALIBER RIFLE, or shotgun smaller than 10ga. :mrgreen:

I'm no lawyer, but this means I can use any rifle from a .17 Bee to a 20mm and anything in between like a 5.56 NATO, 30-30, 7mm Rem, .375 H&H, etc. to take any small game, but I can't for deer? :roll: I don't know why I never noticed this before, but it just adds more fuel to the debate about using rifles to hunt deer in OH.

I'm quite aware that straight-walled cartridges, though NOT all, can be used to take deer, but this whole thing still makes no logical sense to me. I thank BFA for their efforts, I just thought the information I found to be quite humorous given what has transpired over the past several years.
Post subject: Re: Rifles for Small Game without Restrictions ODNR 2014-15
Post Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 2:00 pm
Are you REALLY expecting government regulations to make sense?

AlanM
There are no dangerous weapons; there are only dangerous men. - RAH
Four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, ammo - use in that order.
If you aren't part of the solution, then you obviously weren't properly dissolved.
Post Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 2:13 pm