Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 
Author
Post subject: CCW Instructor Materials & NRA
Post Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:16 pm
I am a CCW instructor and I am certified by the NRA. I am trying to track down some information that seems to be creating a conflict. I am already getting a variety of opinions from other instructors which is contributing to the confusion.

Here are the key issues regarding my question...

1. Ohio Law says you must have an 8 hour class with 2 of those 8 on the range.

2. The Law states this course must be taught under the auspices of a National Advocacy Group.

3. The NRA would qualify for number 2

4. The NRA currently doesn't offer any courses that are 8 hours long with 2 on the range. All of them are longer.

5. The NRA says you CAN NOT teach one of their courses in a condensed manner. If you do you risk losing your teaching credentials. So you couldn't teach Personal Protection in the Home for example in 6 hours and pick and choose what content to cover.

So my question is what are other instructors offering that meets this 6 hours in the classroom and 2 on the range?

I could make up my own curriculum that covers what the AG says needs to be covered, but I am not sure if that is acceptable under the law or if it is "under the auspices of a National advocacy group" since it technically wouldn't be one of their courses.

Since the NRA doesn't offer the basic pistol class accept in the eLearning format and you can't buy packets any longer I either have to send people through the eLearning class at $60 bucks each or give another class like Personal Protection in the Home, which is 12 hours, PLUS I would still need the 2 hours on the range for a total of 14 hours, which nobody is going to take from me.

If anyone can give me some direction on what I should be doing here I would really appreciate it.

Fortune Hunter