Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author
Post subject: First Aid and Combat Life Saver
Post Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:04 pm
Hey everyone...

I was speaking with a friend of mine over the weekend who is an Army medic and an EMT-B in civilian life...
We were discussing how important it is for those who own firearms to know how to provide effective life saving care from gunshot wounds and similar trauma...
Normal first aid doesn't discuss this much, but the Combat Lifesaver course does quite a bit....
This could be important if you or someone you love is ever wounded, or if there is (God forbid) a range accident or any other possible things.

I am not a doctor or nurse, I am however involved with CERT, am CPR/First Aid certified and spend a lot of time studying the matter.

Obviously this would be for personal study only, caveat emptor, I am not a doctor or a lawyer, blah blah blah don't sue me if you screw up.

If you are interested in self-study some topics you are going to want to search out are:

-Learn the First Aid ABC's (Airway, Breathing and Circulation) and CPR
-Standard treatment of wounds (acheiving hemostasis, stopping bleeding, wound care) (basic first aid type stuff)
-Pneumothorax treatment (sucking chest wounds)
-Tension pneumothorax and catheter based chest depressurization
-Hemothorax treatment
-How to use an Asherman chest seal or create a flutter valve
-The use of a nasopharangyl airway (tube down the nose)

Obviously this can be as simple or as complex as you want to go, and I would encourage professional training in this as well....

I am going to share a bit of what I have learned...

Call 911 and get EMS and police rolling as soon as possible when an incident happens.