Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author
Post Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:10 am
I am contemplating adding an Aimpoint to my S&W AR, and have a question I would appreciate some feedback on.

So what is the difference / advantages & disadvantages of the Micro T1 versus the H1 Micro - and 4 MOA versus 2 MOA?

It appears there is a $100 difference (lower) for the H1 - 4 MOA, but as a layman I can't discern a feature difference. I ask because if there is a good reason to go for the more expensive T1... I would like to at least consider it, having already committed to paying that much for a hobby sight.

THANKS a lot.

the Friar
Post subject: Re: Aimpoint recommendation?
Post Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:45 pm
The T-1 is night vision equipment compatible and a 4 MOA dot will be twice as large as a 2 MOA dot. Depending on the distances you intend to shoot and your eyesight, the MOA size could make appreciable difference. I have the Aimpoint PRO with 2 MOA and the dot is very small but doesn't obscure the target. Hope this helps...
Post Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:35 pm
@cadGUY - Thanks! So, if you were say mid-50's (meaning my eyes still work but sure aren't what they used to be...), would you lean towards the larger 4 MOA then - or the opposite? I am thinking my Ninja days are behind me as well, so I suppose I don't need the future option of NV... I'll turn the mounted flashlight on for that (CQB). That'll save me $100 right off the bat! Do you use the supplied mount? Someone told me I should use the Larue mount instead. Thanks

the Friar
Post Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:10 pm
Go take a look at the EOTechs as well as the Trijicons, before you spend your money.

The Aimpoints are awesome, don't get me wrong - but the dot sometimes visually blurs for those with eye issues.