Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 
Author
Post Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 7:53 pm
Has anyone here bought one of those '80% lowers' and finished the machining themselves?

Would anyone be interested in having a '80% build party'? (I'm not a machinist nor do I have the tools, but I would like to see if there is any interest in this type of thing.)
Post subject: Re: 80% build
Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 6:24 pm
thud.
Well, I see that went over like a lead balloon. :lol:

I would have thought someone here had done this or was thinking of doing this. Or maybe some of you have done this and don't want to talk about it; which I can understand.

It is totally legal to do, but I fear that this is just the sort of thing that a petulant Obama would try to ban by executive order, or try to ban with new regulations from ATF or try to ban by some other legalistic B.S.
Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 8:26 pm
If you had said "I am a machinist and I have the tools", you might have had more results.

:D :esad:

What does a caring, sensitive
person feel when they are forced
to use a handgun to stop a threat?

Recoil.
Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:47 pm
Yeah, no doubt.

I have heard that you don't even need a mill. A decent quality drill press, a proper bit and jig and presto...an AR-15 lower of your very own, off the books.
Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 1:31 pm
les nessman wrote:
Yeah, no doubt.

I have heard that you don't even need a mill. A decent quality drill press, a proper bit and jig and presto...an AR-15 lower of your very own, off the books.

Can't be sold, but why would you want to? :)

What does a caring, sensitive
person feel when they are forced
to use a handgun to stop a threat?

Recoil.
Post Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 2:08 pm
only thing I wonder about is any one anodizing the lower after they finish it?

Anodizing is important.

• If you can't hit the broad side of a barn, You're not using enough bullets.
  • Zombies are the Trash-men of Humanity.