ammo life ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ammo life ?

ive got my conceal carry and i leave me gun in the car every day at work. how long should i trust the ammo to be good for? in the winter time the ammo will go through many cold to warm cycles from being in the car to being brought inside. i've been trying to remember to replace it every spring but is this too long of a gap to trust it?

http://forums.buckeyefirearms.org/vi...hp?f=7&t=19408

There are many other threads about this on here as well.
    Joel
    NRA Certified Instructor,Member and Recruiter
    Centerburg Conservation Club Trustee
    CCC Range committee and Lake committee
    Second Call Defense Recruiter

If you like guns, click here! https://membership.nrahq.org/forms/signup.asp?CampaignID=nranews

Comment

I've been carrying the same ammo for the last 3 years.. I fire off a few rounds when the rim's get buggered from rechambering.
      So it's more a worry (with me) about extraction problems not so much primers or powder going bad.

it's always went bang.

A lot of people cycle theirs out every 6-12months, nothing wrong with that although it's probably over cautious, at least with center fire.

I don't carry any rim fires although I have talked to a few people who claim they can kill a rim fire in a few months of carry in those little NAA revolvers.

Comment

i tried searching. just didnt know what words to put in to get what i was wanting. i did try though. the thread you referenced to deals with how long you can leave ammo in a clip. i was wondering how long it would be good for with it constantly going through heat cool cycles.

Comment

Most law enforcement departments replace duty ammo when the officers go through qualification which occurs every 6 or 12 months.
          _Don_

Comment

so id say im safe then with replacing it every spring. i always fire it off and it have seemed to be ok. just thought i get other opinions. thanks guys

Comment