which firearm to buy for a newbie

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which firearm to buy for a newbie

Hi, my name is Anne, and I live in southeast Ohio. I am new to firearms, although I have long supported to right to keep them. So please excuse my ignorance about gun stuff, as I am a true newbie.
    My husband and I recently purchased several handguns, and are scheduled to take a concealed carry class in early February. My husband chose a Springfield 1911, which broke a firing pin of some kind the first time he shot it, and went back for repairs. While it was being repaired, he bought a Taurus .45 Millenium which he likes as well. He likes the 1911 best, as he used to be an Army MP 25 years ago, and he carried a 1911 back then, so he says a 1911 just feels right.
    I chose a Glock 27, a .40 that turned out to be too much gun for me to handle right now. I have used it twice, and it drew blood both times (once I pinched my finger as I tried to release the slide, and once I tore a gash in my thumb when the slide came back when I fired.) I don't seem to have the strength to pull back on the slide or release the slide when it is back, and do not have the finger length to release the magazine. So I went back to the gun shop and bought a Taurus .40 Millenium. I do okay with the Millenium, and after firing it a few times, my husband went and got his Millenium .45 since the Springfield was still being repaired.